English Blog

elle ay January 21, 2010

Filed under: Intro & Rules — writing4english @ 10:38 AM

Hola Everyone! =]

 I’m Lori Allan – a Freshmen here at the University of Detroit Mercy!

 I came here to fulfill my passion –> Architecture. I stay here on campus in Shiple Hall waaaaay up on the 7th floor with my awesome roomate. How ironic is it that 2 Valedictorians get placed in the same room? In the summer,  I took the stairs as much as possible. 84 stairs to be exact. (Yes, I counted!) So in about a year, I figured I’d be very fit for the track team if I ever decided to join.

I am from Detroit and I think it’s a lovely city! I love walking along the river Downtown. It’s really pretty day or night. I am the 3rd oldest of 6. 3 girls.. 3 boys. They’re the best. I am a mix of black, white and West Indian. (Jamaican) Yeah, Mon’

I listen to a lot of different types of music genres. Is it weird I listen to a few Christmas songs here-and-there in the summer? Ha ha ha. Writing is one of my favorite things to do. I am a reporter and writer for the Varsity News. I also work for the admissions office and it is my job to blog about what I do around campus or about UDM for perspective students. (www.blogs.udmercy.edu)

This previous summer and the summer before, I worked at Dairy Queen which was the best! I started collecting quotes a couple years ago so I can relate a quote to any situation. I just finished my 4th quote book yesterday. I love to laugh so the quote for today will be:

“The most wasted day is one in which you have not laughed.” -Unknown

I stay pretty busy here. I have class from 2-6 everyday including a couple classes in the morning. I see a new face on campus everyday when I’m in the library or the Titan Dining Room which is pretty refreshing. Plus, there’s always an event that allows you to interact with the students and staff here.

P.S. The title of this post are my initials but sounded out (if that makes sense) L = Elle and A = Ay

Lori E. Allan

 

18 Responses to “elle ay”

  1. I like the whole Elle Ay thing 🙂

  2. I listen to Christmas music randomally in the summer too!

    Alexandria

  3. This is so creative Lori haha. I love it. Its funny because i see you all the time but you always seem so quiet, but maybe thats just because i dont really know you. I enjoyed reading this, but i have to tell you if i worked at DQ i might be 300 pounds because i loveeeee ice cream.

  4. This was so interesting to read! I work at dairy queen too! (my parents own 2 of them) Its such a fun job!!

    -Caitlin Tefend

  5. i forgot to sign my name so for any confusion i was the one talking about how i love ice cream haha
    -Breanna

  6. Hey your in Architecture, that is cool. Then you probably know my roomate Levi, and the Polish kids that left for home. Sweet

  7. Hey your in Architecture, that is cool. Then you probably know my roomate Levi, and the Polish kids that left for home. Sweet

    -kevin cunningham

  8. Hey your in Architecture, that is cool. Then you probably know my roomate Levi, and the Polish kids that left for home. Sweet

    -kevin cunningham

  9. the customers are honestly the funniest people ever. i have soo many stories 🙂 haha

    -Caitlin T

  10. I used to have a quote book but I haven’t written in it in forever!

    Olivia


Leave a Reply

