English Blog

Introducing Myself January 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — writing4english @ 10:42 AM

Hey,
I’m not a lumber jack
Or a fur trader
And I don’t live in an igloo
Or eat blubber
Or own a dog sled
And I don’t know Jimmy, Jally or Suzie from Canada
Although I’m sure they’re really really nice
I have a Prime Minister not a President
I speak English and French not American
And I pronounce it about not “a-boot”
I can proudly sew my country’s flag on my backpack I believe in peacekeeping not policing
Diversity not assimilation
And that the beaver is a truly proud and noble animal
A toque is a hat a chesterfield is a couch
And it is prnouced “zed” not “zee” “zed”!
Canada is the 2nd largest landmass!
The 1st nation in hockey!
And the best part of North America
My name is Jordan and I am Canadian!

I know a lot of you will find this funny but most of these lines are true. I got this from a Molson Canadian commercial. One thing I would like to point out is that I do not call a couch a chesterfield, and have never heard of anyone calling it that. So anyways my name is Jordan Houtby, and I am a freshman here at UDM. I am on the lacrosse team here and I play LSM(long stick midfielder), so basically I get to run around and hit kids with a six-foot pole. I really like it here at UDM and have made the transition from high school to college very quickly. Weekends are always a blast here, so if you are bored, come to the 4th floor on shiple where there is always something going on.

By Jordan Houtby

 

5 Responses to “Introducing Myself”

  1. That is HIGH-larious!

    Kristen D.

  2. I love the quote from the Molson Canadian comercial. I said “zed” the other day and the Americans had no clue what I was talking about.

  3. The 4th floor smells

    -Brittany Cifka

  4. So NOT the best part of North America. But I’ll let you get away with it this time. You are only Canadian after all, what else could be expected. =]

    Kidding.

    I’ve never been to Canada,
    But as soon as I get my pass port, you can bet I’ll be over there!


Leave a Reply

