English Blog

Detroit: My City, My Home, My Love January 27, 2010

Filed under: Detroit — writing4english @ 8:59 AM

Detroit to me is an amazing place, not only to live, but simply to be. I have lived and grown up in the city of Detroit and I am more than proud to let people know. There isn’t any other place I would rather be. There is a stereotype surround Detroit and the people who live her such as we are ghetto, loud, unruly, and mean. Of and don’t forget dangerous. However, I’ve never experience anything out of the ordinary in my life so far. Maybe I am just lucky, which it could be, or maybe it’s just that as outsiders the perception is a little skewed. Don’t get me wrong a lot does go on in Detroit. There are murders, drugs, and shootings. These things can be found in any city around the world. However, Detroit is pin-pointed as just being horrible and a place you don’t want to live. I’m proud to call Detroit home and I wish others felt the same way. Aside from the bad side of Detroit, there are many great things and places throughout the city. We take what is public space and make it into our own (Silverman & Rader 482). I can proudly say that I am to the Detroit Lions, Red Wings, and Tigers. I suppose the Pistons can be included too, even though they aren’t even located in Detroit, but in Auburn Hills. Regardless of whether we having winning or losing teams, those are my teams and I will continue to cheer them on. There are many fun, yet educational places to visit and see, such as the Main Library, African American Museum, the Art Museum, and the Detroit Science Center. For entertainment there are such places as the Opera House, DSO, Max Fisher, and the amazing Fox Theater. With all that there is to do anyone in Detroit should never have a dull moment. You can go on a date to the River Walk or just ride the people mover around and around. My personal favorite thing to do in the winter time is to go down to Campus Martius and ice skate. As a matter of fact, I once even spent my snow day from school ice skating in the middle of a snow storm. For as little as $10 you can also go and ice skate downtoen and have  blast. Feel free to visit the website for more info (http://www.campusmartiuspark.org/amen_icerink.htm).  If ice skating isn’t really your choice hobby, there is always Northland Roller Rink or Detroit Roller Wheels for roller skating. There are many parks and recreational places to hang out and enjoy the outdoors. I love Belle Isle. There truly is a lot to do in the city of Detroit. You just have to find something you like and go do it. Detroit maybe on the “dangerous” side, but it’s not to the point where you constantly live in fear. I know I don’t. I enjoy myself, my life, and my time here in Detroit. Detroit is my home. It’s the only home I know and I will forever be proud of my city. 

-Arielle K.

 

5 Responses to “Detroit: My City, My Home, My Love”

  1. I agree that there are some great things about the city of Detroit. However, the school system needs to improve and some of these so called politicians need to leave office.

  2. there are great things about the city but a lot needs to change starting with the school systems.
    DMMullen

  3. I definitely agree that a major change needs to be made about DPS. My favorite parts of Detroit are the DIA and Comerica Park. It’s a lot of fun when big things come to the town- it’s so exciting to see everyone roaming around downtown and having a good time!

    Danielle Harteau

  4. I love the title! I think Detroit is beautiful also. You’ve named many fun places in Detroit that definitely make Detroit stand out.

    Lori E. Allan

  5. Nice job, Arielle. Good perspective, and way to work those sources in there. 🙂

    ~Jenna G.


Leave a Reply

