English Blog

Livin’ in the Big D January 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — writing4english @ 9:54 PM

Detroit is a place that has been critisized for as long as most of us can remember. The problem is, it’s been critisized mostly by people who don’t know the city. It’s automatically assumed by outsiders that it’s a dangerous place to live and should be avoided. Yes, there are places in Detroit that are unsafe. But there are parts of this city that are spectacular and get sucked into Detroit’s overall reputation. Downtown is very beautiful.”Detroit is known for one of the most stunning collections of pre-depression architecture in the world.” (http://www.forgottendetroit.com/) There’s lights and resturants and sports attractions. Don’t get me wrong, there are places that should be bypassed. Neglect can change a public space (Sliverman and Rader 482). Detroit has abandoned many buildings that used to stand out.

My dad’s side of the family knows all about Detroit. My dad, uncle, and aunt all went to Cass Tech High School, my grandma works at the Ren Cen, my uncle is a Detroit cop, and my grandparents, uncle, and great aunt all live in Grosse Pointe and my sister has recently moved out there as well. So they know a thing or two about the city itself. When I told them that I was considering coming to UDM, they were uneasy. At first, I understood why. I didn’t really know anything about the city besides what I had been told. Let’s just say my opinion wasn’t in the city’s favor. It didn’t help that after I made the decision to actually come here, I got pepper spray for Christmas. Every time I made a trip down here, my mom would point out every gas station that I wasn’t allowed to stop at and every resturant I needed to avoid. But now that I live here, I’ve learned a lot about the city. It’s funny how I tell people that I go running outside the gates and they automatically get freaked out. I honestly feel very comfortable here. And guess what? I run outside of the gates BY MYSELF every Monday and I’m still here. But don’t tell my mom that.

~Alexandria Vintevoghel

 

2 Responses to “Livin’ in the Big D”

  1. Detroit truly isnt that bad and you really have no reason to feel unsafe. Continue to run atround outside the gates. I wont tell.
    -Arielle K.

  2. Great post, Alexandria. Cute ending and a cute response from Arielle. I like how you combine the informative with the personal. And you did a good job of incorporating both sources. Nice work.

    ~Jenna G.


Leave a Reply

