English Blog

Battle of the Sexes February 15, 2010

Filed under: Gender & Sexuality — writing4english @ 5:23 PM

I’m a female, which all of you should know by now. I did play with barbies when I was a little girl and I loved playing dress up. As I grew up I began to play with the boys. I went through the whole tom boy stage. I wore baggy clothes, my hair in a pony tail, and never ever wanted to take a bath. I loved hanging out with the boys and being different than all of the other girls. Now that I look back on this I always thought I went through this awkward stage because I wanted to be different than my twin sister, but really a lot of girls do it. I never viewed this as strange or anything in that nature, I just seen it as normal. What I don’t understand about society is if a boy were to go through a stage where he loved getting dolled up and acting like a girl, more than likely his parents would become worried. Why? Who cares? “The damage done to the personality of a homosexual man because of continuing societal attitudes, easily explains why numerous gay men seek psychological counseling” (http://www.amazon.com/Being-Homosexual-Gay-Their-Development/dp/0374528217). I think that everyone has the right to explore all aspects of life even if it is from the other sex’s point of view. Being curious or being different doesn’t make you weird. If it does make you weird then 99.9% of the population would be labeled as weird. A lot of people hide the way they want to express themselves because it is different and they know they would be treated different because of it. In The World Is a Text it explains how popular culture effects the way we view one another. There are preconceptions about gender that come from billboards, television, and other types of media that persuade us to think what is normal and what is not. If someone breaks these ideas or stereotypes we view it as abnormal and/or strange (Silverman and Rader 430). People should be comfortable acting the way they want and we should not judge them solely on this.

-Geri Gabrielson

 

7 Responses to “Battle of the Sexes”

  1. I used to play with barbies too! Well I’d take them from my sister and take the heads off and hide them. I agree with your entire post, and I absolutly agree in regards that people should be comfortable with themselves.

    Kevin Cunningham

  2. I went through a tom boy stage too. I think a lot of girls do. Maybe not all girls, but a fair amount I think. I agree that a lot of people unfortunately stereotype based off a person’s sexuality.

    Danielle Harteau

  3. I agree that being curious doesn’t make you weird. If i did not try half of the things i did then i would be a totally different person. There are many times in someones life where they have the urge to try something different and in some cases that is sexuality.

    -Jordan Houtby

  4. I agree in that we should not judge people who are different or choose to make certain decisions because sometimes the weirdest people can be the coolest people. Being the same just means you fit into what society wants you to be and that maybe you aren’t really expressing who you really are.

    Raymond L.

  5. I LOVED barbies! But my best friend was a boy and he didn’t like them so I didn’t want to like them. In all honesty, I loved them. Probably still to this day if I sat down and played with barbies I would enjoy it. But I still love watching football and hockey with my dad and guy friends.

    Alexandria V.

  6. I think the fact that you hung out with guys is alright. I hung out with girls when I was really young and nobody made a fuss about that. I also remember doing a lot of things to be different that my lil brother.

    -Jeffrey

  7. Nice post, Geri. I like the idea that maybe we’re all a little weird when it comes down to it. And if we’re all a little weird, maybe that makes everyone who is a little weird normal? Or something? Good work.

    ~Jenna G.


Leave a Reply

