English Blog

Gender bender February 15, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — writing4english @ 5:31 PM

 The anatomy of a human determines the sex of the individual. Gender is the “socially constructed behaviors and identity tags, such as “feminine” and “masculine.”(Silverman Rader 427). It is not uncommon for people to confuse sex with gender. Each gender has different expectation (varies across cultures)  to carry out,  which is a rough definition of a “role”. When you combine gender and role, you obviously get gender role. A gender role is the “set of behavoiral norms assumed to accompany one’s status as a male of female”(Conley, Dalton. You may Ask Yourself. New York: W.W. Norton and Company, 1998. Print). I believe that there is an average “mean” that our American culture has formed in regards to gender roles, however it seems to frown upon those that deviate from it. In other words, the American culture has developed values and norms that expects predictable behaviors. Sexual preference has a lot of emphasis placed on it in the American culture. When people of the opposite sex are in an intimate relationship, it is considered normal by nearly all. However when people of the same-sex form intimate relationships, it is frowned upon by a majority of the American culture. I personally feel that “gays” should be given the same respect as to people of “straight” preference. When people frown upon gays, I believe it is because they aren’t exactly comfortable with themselves. I will admit that when I was younger, I disapproved of gays, however I was an ignorant youngin. Nowadays I strongly believe that gays should be given the same rights as straights (marriage). Those who don’t believe in gay right’s are ignorant and subconsciously uncomfortable with themselves.

Kevin Cunningham

 

6 Responses to “Gender bender”

  1. I agree that homosexual people should have the same amount of rights that everyone else has. Just because they have different likes and interests does not make them abnormal or inferior.
    -Geri Gabrielson

  2. I was the same as you when I was younger. I feel that when we are younger, no one understood why people were gay, But now that we are older we see that it isn’t just something they decided to do one day, but something that their brain has been telling them all their life.

    -Jordan Houtby

  3. I do not believe in gay rights as in marriage wise but that is just how I was raised. But I’m not just going to be mean to someone because they are homosexual. As far as being born with it from the minute you are born, you are born into sin and have a sinful nature. I believe it is not something you are born with but something that can happen at a young age and they do not remember being attracted to the same sex. I personally feel I’m not uncomfortable with myself or ignorant, its how I was raised and I will always remember where I came from.

    Olivia Lewis

  4. Ha ha. Nice title. I agree that gays should be given the same amount of respect. I’m sure they accept straight people for who they/we are.

    Lori E. Allan

  5. Nice job, Kevin. My favorite part about this post was the fact that you alternated academic language (deviation from the mean) and colloquial language (ignorant youngin). It made the post readable and informative.

    I do also want to come to Olivia’s defense just a little, even though I think both she and Kevin handled this fairly well. There are many reasons why a person could not want gay marriage to be legalized and those reasons can be religious, moral, political, personal or otherwise. Although I’m sure it is true with some people, perhaps not ALL people who are not in support of gay marriage are uncomfortable with themselves? If we don’t want to generalize about one side, we shouldn’t about the other side. I want to encourage all of you to continue to be able to say how you feel without getting ganged up on or hurting other people’s feelings. So let’s continue this in class if everyone involved feels up to it. All around, nice job.

    ~Jenna G.


Leave a Reply

