English Blog

Gender & Sexuality February 16, 2010

Filed under: Gender & Sexuality — writing4english @ 11:33 AM

Throughout my life I have always been the type of girl that is definitely in touch with her feminine side, but not afraid to get her hands dirty. I always did two types of sports when I was growing up- softball and dance. Whenever I played softball, I always loved sliding into bases and diving for fly balls, not caring that I’d get my jersey covered in dirt. Whenever I had a dance performance I always made sure that my costume and makeup looked perfect. Two completely different types of sports that have shaped who I am today. Not many people today have issues with girls doing both, but if a guy is a dancer, that’s be a completely different story. The perception of gender is influenced by “stereotypes, tradition, popular culture, and family” (Silverman, Radar 429). Unfortunately, it seems that whenever a boy is a dancer, a lot of people automatically stereotype him as gay and unmasculine. Little do they know that male dancers are some of the strongest of athletes and some male dancers do more than just dance. For instance, I know a guy that is a professional ballroom dancer and instructor. He has been dancing all his life, but in high school he was also a varisty football, hockey and track player. He is extremely strong and it seems that dancing actually helped in his other sports too. He is also an expert with clothes as well- now I’m sure people would ask if he was gay here, but he is far from it. He is engaged and is happy as ever. I really admire men like him because even though he is extremely strong and masculine, he is also not afraid to be in touch with his artistic side and is confident in who he is. Overall, I think it is important for both men and women to be confident with their sexuality because it can have a great impact on the way they live life.

Danielle Harteau

 

2 Responses to “Gender & Sexuality”

  1. I have heard that dancing does help with other sports, strength wise.. And ya know men dont have to be “gay” to dance.

    –sam laird

  2. Nice post, Danielle. The straight male dancer, hair dresser, makeup artist, etc., probably have a lot to deal with! Your friend sounds very comfortable with himself.

    ~Jenna G.


Leave a Reply

