English Blog

Really? February 16, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — writing4english @ 12:05 PM

I used to do pageants, and supporters of pageants are primarily gay men, and then women.  I never really cared to understand the logic behind being gay or lesbian, but doing pageants enlightened me about it.  My trainer lived in Tennessee, and I went and visited him at his home where he and his boyfriend lived.  I knew he was gay but it meant nothing to me until I went to his house.  He and his boyfriend lived together, and they were more normal than any other couple I’ve ever known.  They love like we love, they care like we care, and they want like we want.  The one thing that struck me the most was when someone told me, “If his partner was in the hospital dying, that he would not be allowed in the room.”  Why is that fair.  You can not help who you love, and to deny someone to be with the person they love, even at the request of the patient, is totally wrong.  Ever since I heard that, it really hit me hard.  I completely changed my views about gay and lesbian couples.  I do, however, still admit, it’s weird to look at, but I don’t think that’s wrong on my part.  I was raised around such strong religious believers, and my friends were too.  “Perhaps the most influential source for our gender roles comes from our own families.” (Silverman and Rader 430)  Sometimes, I can’t understand transgender, or sex changes, but at least I know now not to judge.

Kristen Danyal

 

One Response to “Really?”

  1. Nice post, Kristen. Gosh, the pageant world is a great place to explore gender and sexuality. I’d like to talk about that some more and your comments about homosexuality. And I think it is OK, too, to admit that you don’t necessarily understand those feelings. We’ll talk about it. Thanks for the post.

    ~Jenna G.


Leave a Reply

