English Blog

Tomboy&&Girly girl? Yes, please February 16, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — writing4english @ 2:44 AM

When I was little I was a huge tomboy, hung out with the guys, climbed trees and all that jazz. As I grew up I grew away from the stage in my life and it made me who I am  today. I have played soccer for 10+ years of my life and I joined a premiere team in 7th grade. In 8th grade there wasn’t enough people to make another girls and another guys team so the girls joined the guys to play with them in a guys league. I was part of that and I was proud but the way I was used to playing soccer was a laughing matter to some of the guys. I wasn’t afraid to push them down or slide tackle but one main difference was that girls used their hips to their advantage and I learned guys didn’t. I tried to hip check a guy and he just laughed with all his other guys on his team. Sports are so segregated like how guys play football and girls play volleyball. Another example of how genders are suppose to act a certain way is “wearing high heels, earrings, makeup” (Silverman and Rader 428). A guy comes into my work and he is a cross dresser I’ve seen him wear makeup and carrying a purse and he likes to be called Amy. Now that I’ve seen him a couple times he just seems like a usual customer to me I don’t do a double take like I used to. It is a way of life for him and I’ve come to accept that and try my best not to judge.

http://www.faqs.org/health/topics/8/Gender-roles.html

Olivia Lewis

 

3 Responses to “Tomboy&&Girly girl? Yes, please”

  1. I agree with you on the football vs volleyball thing. I think men and women should be able to compete against each other and that there should be no othe option.

    -Jeffrey

  2. I think it’s great that you like to play and get down with the guys! Who cares about volleyball vs football! all that matters is that you love doing it, and clearly you do 🙂

    -Caitlin T

  3. Nice post, Olivia. It’s great that you bring up a biologically difference (having hips) as a stylistic difference in sports. Good work.

    ~Jenna G.


Leave a Reply

