English Blog

o_0 Jamaica – Jamaica 0_o March 1, 2010

Filed under: Identity — writing4english @ 9:24 PM

* Aloha *

Many things make me who I am. Beginning with my family, my mother is a mix of African-American and Caucasian (highlight the word to the left of the first parenthesis). My father, however, is Jamaican. Yes, my skin is very light – as my friend Deon would say, “it be like that sometimes!” Ha ha. Some think I’m Puerto Rican, some think I’m white, and some have no idea. But hey, what does it matter anyway? This only makes me who I am as far as appearance.

Bob Marley once said, “the color of mans skin is of no more significance than the color of mans eyes.”

My great grandfather built his family’s home from the ground up by himself. It dawned on me that this, perhaps, has been a trait tossed down to me that triggers my desire for architecture. Who knows…

My experiences and knowledge thus far have made me who I am. I have always had goals and dreams and as I began to gain more knowledge, the bigger my goals and dreams became. As I learned from God, life, school, family, and peers – everything began to make sense. Everything I did, I did with purpose. Even though I mostly did the same things everyday: School, homework, and sleep – it was all about taking pride in the mundane. Everyone and everything has an influence. Race and ethnicity, even if socially directed, guide a great portion of our public life. (Silverman & Radar 268)

We are all different but we can all have an affect on one another. And we can all relate to one another. 3 words to the world. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PZvSPH9pr7s

People think we’re supposed to spend our lives “finding ourselves,” life is really about creating ourselves. No matter what we change about ourselves, no matter what we go through… there is one person that will always be the same and one person that will always be a huge part who I am: God.

Quote of the day:

            “To love oneself is the beginning of a life-long romance.” –Oscar Wilde

Lori E. Allan

 

6 Responses to “o_0 Jamaica – Jamaica 0_o”

  1. You always strike me with those daily quotes, especially marley’s. He was a good man, and I’m hella jealous your Jamican.

    kevin cunningham

  2. I too like the Bob Marley quote! It suites this whole topic pretty well. I really like that last paragraph about how life is like creating yourself not finding it.

    ~Alexandria V.

  3. It always seems that people with no clue what so ever of your background always have something to say. I feel the same way about how people spend their time trying to find theirselves, when really you can make yourself to be who you want to be.
    -Arielle K.

  4. I like it, I think that everything you said was true and that it is important to have a meaning behind the things we do whether or not it is the most important thing in the world, to still do it with pride and purpose.
    Raymond L.

  5. Very true post. I like how you put the Bob Marley post in there because that really sums up how I feel about race. And I like how you feel God is the most important thing.

    -Jeffrey Senecal

  6. Great post, Lori. You know, I can always “identify” which post is yours, without you having to sign it. The fact that you write this way says something about you, too, I think. And remember your story about your grandfather influencing your love of architecture as we read the novel….the protagonist has similar feelings.

    ~Jenna G.


Leave a Reply

