English Blog

March 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — writing4english @ 1:01 PM

Finnish, German, Native American are a few of the nationalities in my family. I feel it has a small role in my identity just because my family doesn’t really follow traditions in any of those nationalities. However my Grandma does make Pasties and several other types of Finnish food. The Native American side of my family are from down south and were part of the Hatfield’s and McCoy’s which was a family feud that many died in.

My family has a much larger impact on my identity because they are always there for me when I need them. I don’t come from a huge family I have an older sister and a younger brother. Therefore I’m the middle child.  “They are guaranteed to be opposite of their older sibling” (Neal Personality Traits Linked To Birth Order).  I feel I’m very different from my sister and I’m more of a rebel compared to her she stays within the lines. I will argue with my Dad and I’m not afraid of him and say how I feel whereas she will just listen to him even if she doesn’t agree. Not only does that influence my identity but how I was raised to go to church every week. Even the smallest thing like going to public school I feel has helped shape me into who I am.

I grew up in Redford and moved to Livonia and that was a big difference. When I moved there everyone was so judgemental based on race which was much different from Redford. “We tend to categorize people by their appearance, not by their biological background” (Silverman and Rader 268).  Everyone complained in Livonia about how crazy the African American students were and how they increased the fights. But I feel it was in no way the new students but just frustration from the parents rubbing off on students due to the economic crisis in Michigan. We need to not judge based on looks and my bosses always tell everyone at work don’t assume. Because it makes and ass out of you and me.

Olivia Lewis

 

2 Responses to “”

  1. The conflict problem in Livonia was probably more of a result of the people making a big deal about black people moving in, which actually created the tension.
    -Jake Morse

  2. Nice post, Olivia. Jake, what I think she is also pointing out is how parents’ negativity about the situation rubs off on their kids, who then pass it along. Which, Olivia, is totally appropriate for this topic, too, right? The Hatfield/McCoy thing would also make great material for assignment topic #2 if you so choose.

    ~Jenna G.


Leave a Reply

