English Blog

I love my family.<3 March 2, 2010

Filed under: Identity — writing4english @ 11:56 AM

As far as family goes, I think mine plays a huge role into my identity. Everything I know and believe in has been learned through my family. I have learned how to stay strong, work hard and have a strong & loving relationship with God. My mother has definitely been my inspiration to never give up. Times were tough growing up but as a family we always made it through everything together. 

Race and ethnicity also play a large role within my family. I come from a very large Mexican family. Both my mother and father’s parents migrated from Mexico to the US. My grandparents have worked hard and fought through struggles to make their lives better than they were before. I think it’s so interesting when I hear stories from my grandparents and how crazy of a change it was for them when they came to the US. 

I don’t usually take any race jokes to heart but I do think it’s funny when you hear how Mexicans can most likely be found doing some kind of landscaping job or construction. I always like to get back at them and say, ‘Well, yeah, but that just makes Mexican’s look like harder workers because we see them out working most often.’ Obviously, that is not true because hard work cannot be classified by race. “Sadly, in the US, views on race are often influenced by financial concerns” (Silverman & Rader 272). It really is sad because although we don’t mean to—we often assume that because someone is an immigrant they don’t have it as good as someone born and raised in the US. Although, my family’s lives have improved, we never forget where we came from and the hard work it took to come such a long way. I am proud of my family and what I have become through each and every one of them.

Nayeli Garza.

 

3 Responses to “I love my family.<3”

  1. I think your blog makes so much sense. It only reiterates that when something is so good to you, it only makes you want to strive to be more like that. If everything is going right, why would you choose any other path in life?

    Kristen Danyal

  2. I can really relate to this because i am Mexican too and i have heard comments like that a lot. Plus I am really close with my family too, your story is a little different than mine though because my grandparents didnt go through that many struggles but its really interesting to hear it from someone else. Its honestly pretty inspiring to me 🙂
    -Breanna

  3. Nice post and good comments. It is very interesting to hear the differences between people’s views on these topics. Here, Nayeli, you show how ethnicity and family are tied together.

    ~Jenna G.


Leave a Reply

