English Blog

Who am I? March 2, 2010

Filed under: Identity — writing4english @ 1:23 PM

Who am I? Well that is a very tough question for me to answer. For those people who don’t know me they would say that I am a short, blonde hair, blue eyed, white girl. For those who do know me would probably say somehwere along the lines of a happy, always smiling, very kind, big-hearted girl who would do anything for her family and friends. To me, the first description of who i am is not very fitting for me. I don’t want to be classified as just another white girl. I like to be known for my personality and other crazy attributes about me that is like no other person. I feel like your identity  should be about something that defines you that is like no one else because everyone is different. I mean obviously, I am caucasion, but really that has nothing to do with who I am. I believe that the color of your skin does not clearly define who you are. In the book, The World is a Text, Silvermann and Radar explain about the whole quote of “you can’t judge a book by it’s cover”. I love this quote because of the truthfulness behind it. Basically whether you deny it or not, everyone judges everyone. Its pretty much a known fact. But usually once you get to know the peson you figure out that your prejudgments were very wrong.  That goes for the same thing about a persons identity. If you judge them only by their race or ethnicity you could be missing out on a wonderful person. I guess what Im trying to get at is that you can’t judge a person soley on their race because it’s probably not even close with what they want to be identified with. Call me a sister, a daughter, a friend, or even crazy, but please don’t call me just some white girl. 🙂

-Brittany Cifka

 

4 Responses to “Who am I?”

  1. I really like this because it sounds very sincere and genuine to me….i think you got your point across really well and i like how much of your personality it shows 🙂
    -Breanna

  2. I agree with Breanna. I can truly understand people when they are truthful. Its not that we judge people due to race, we just categorize them somewhat.
    –sam laird

  3. I liked this, too, Brittany. And I’m glad that it is difficult for you to answer that first question. That means you’re thinking about it in a complex way.

    ~Jenna G.

  4. I really like your blog! I think it’s genuine. I like that you quoted “you can’t judge a book by it’s cover” because this is definitely a true statement.

    Danielle Harteau


Leave a Reply

