English Blog

It’s just wrong. :/ March 25, 2010

Filed under: Middlesex — writing4english @ 12:41 PM

Incest is one topic I have never really thought of before and now that it is brought up, it really interests me. It is one of the most disturbing things I have heard about and I never really knew how it could effect someone. “You’re not only my sister. You’re my third cousin, too. Third cousins can marry.” “You’re crazy Lefty.” “This way will be easier. We won’t have to rearrange the house” (Eugenides 39). This quote is I believe the first one to blatantly say that there is an emotional and physical attraction between the two siblings/third cousins. Desdemona, throughout the first two ‘chapters’ of Book 1, gets these feelings deep down inside of her that she cannot explain. I feel that those feelings deep down inside of her are just foreshadowing what is going to happen between the two of them. Incest between siblings is said to be the least harmful form, but I think that any incest or sexual abuse in anyway can mess with someone’s head just as much. Lefty and Desdemona had nobody else. It was the two of them all the time, from the time they were born. Not to mention with the parents not alive anymore, the village they lived in was full of hairy, smelly women. The attractions between Lefty and Desdemona are understandable to an extent. As Lefty says up top, “We won’t have to rearrange the house,” is interesting to me that he even said anything like that. He shows really no interest of incest with Desdemona, she is the one that gets those feelings to want her brother/third cousin. Also, as I was reading, I never knew that incest was illegal. Hmm!

–Sam Laird

 

3 Responses to “It’s just wrong. :/”

  1. I completely forgot that she was having those feelings in her heart I just blew that off and thought it was a heart condition. That is a good example of foreshadowing!
    Olivia

  2. i did not know that incest was illegal either! wow!

    Caitlin Tefend

  3. Very good point about foreshadowing, Sam. There’s a lot of this in this book.

    ~Jenna G.


Leave a Reply

