English Blog

Thrid cousin, brother, mother, whats the big deal!?! March 25, 2010

Filed under: Middlesex — writing4english @ 2:11 PM

okay, first off I have to say that I am not really sure if I am even writing on the right topic right now. Secondly, I do not even know how I feel about the topic. But I feel it needs to be touched on, so yeah. =]

As I read book 1, I found it really hard to stay focused on anything other than Lefty and Des. I kept skimming the pages until they were on the page again. For one reason or another, I found it all to be one of the most romantic things I have ever read. Do I agree, no, maybe, probably not. But then again, it was a different time and a different culture.

Someone else said that they interpretide this as being a burden. That their whole relationship was a burden on the two. But here is where I strongly agree. While I don’t think it was right, I think their love was true. The emotion the pours out of their actions proves it.  “At first they just hugged in the standard way, but after ten seconds the hug began to change; certain positions of the hands and strokings of the fingers weren’t the usual displays of sibling affection, and these things constituted a language of their own, announced a whole new message in the silent room.” (Eugenides 39)

So I don’t agree, but I don’t judge. Love is something that can not be controlled, nor surpressed, and I don’t see it as being right to judge sometyhing pure and true as wrong.

and again, I don’t even know what I am supposed to be writing about right now, but that was my biggest thing with book one.

So there ya go!

A.K.A. Borkowski

 

One Response to “Thrid cousin, brother, mother, whats the big deal!?!”

  1. So….why don’t you know what you’re supposed to be writing on? Did you get instructions?

    That being said, you are writing on love and what that has to do with sexuality, so it IS on topic. And I think you bring up a good point about not judging. You don’t have to decide whether it is right or wrong. It is what it is.

    ~Jenna G.


Leave a Reply

